To: Rules

By: Representative Moody

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 72
(As Adopted by House)

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE WINSTON ACADEMY PATRIOTS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR AN OUTSTANDING 1998 SEASON AND FOR

3 WINNING THE CLASS AA STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.

4 WHEREAS, the Winston Academy Patriots Football Team finished

5 the 1998 season with a remarkable record of 13 wins and only one

6 loss; and

7 WHEREAS, the Patriots played exceptionally well in the

- 8 playoffs this year, winning the District 3 Class AA Championship,
- 9 the South State AA and the Class AA State Championship, which is
- 10 the school's fourth state title; and
- 11 WHEREAS, many members of the team have received recognition
- 12 for their hard work, dedication and superior play this season,
- 13 including the naming of Josh Edwards and Jason McNeel to the
- 14 All-Stars team, the All-State second team, the All-Conference team
- 15 and the Meridian Star area team, the selection of Adam White to
- 16 the All-Stars team, the All-Conference team and the Meridian Star
- 17 area team, the naming of Gabe Bailey, Will Massey, Taylor McNeel,
- 18 B.J. Triplett, Brandt Peterson and Patrick Warner to the
- 19 All-Conference team and the Meridian Star area team, the selection
- 20 of Sam Crowson, Nathan Gresham, Johnathon Haggard, Jim Peters,
- 21 Robert Prisock and Tom Simmonds to the All-Conference team, and
- 22 the naming of Chris Eaves, Justin Flake, Scott Peterson, Don
- 23 Scrivener, Brandon Simpson, Randell Sims and Matt Young to the
- 24 All-Conference Honorable Mention team; and
- 25 WHEREAS, the Patriots have been superbly coached and inspired
- 26 this season by Head Coach Nick Brewer and Assistant Coaches Paul

- 27 Anderson, Wayne Gordon, John David Higginbotham and Kenny Wolfe,
- 28 who have broadened the players' knowledge of the game and refined
- 29 their skills in execution; and
- 30 WHEREAS, Coach Brewer has brought additional honor to himself
- 31 and to Winston Academy by being selected as the District 3-AA
- 32 Coach of the Year, the Meridian Star Coach of the Year and Head
- 33 Coach of the South All-Stars team; and
- 34 WHEREAS, the Patriots have received the support and
- 35 encouragement of the team chaplain, Kenneth Eaves, and the team
- 36 statistician, Wendell Womack; and
- 37 WHEREAS, the Winston Academy Patriots have been supported in
- 38 their athletic endeavors by their television crew, which includes
- 39 John Clark, Brother Rob Faulk, John Taylor Paschal and Terry
- 40 Woods; and
- 41 WHEREAS, the Patriots have developed a winning and
- 42 cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their
- 43 activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual
- 44 players and their coaches and bring honor to Winston Academy; and
- WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 46 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of
- 47 our state, who are its future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 49 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 50 THEREIN, That we commend and congratulate the Winston Academy
- 51 Patriots Football Team and their coaches, Head Coach Nick Brewer
- 52 and Assistant Coaches Paul Anderson, Wayne Gordon, John David
- 53 Higginbotham, and Kenny Wolfe, for their outstanding 1998 season,
- 54 for winning the Class AA State Championship and for displaying
- 55 tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.
- 56 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 57 furnished to Winston Academy, Head Coach Nick Brewer and Assistant
- 58 Coaches Paul Anderson, Wayne Gordon, John David Higginbotham and
- 59 Kenny Wolfe.